You are invited...

Wednesday, November 18, 2020

Baylor Club, Waco, Texas

Friend of the Year Honoree - Capturing Kids Hearts, powered by Flippen Group

Friends of Texas Public Schools is pleased to announce that its 2021 Texas Public Schools Friend of the Year honoree is the Capturing Kids Hearts program, powered by Flippen Group. This award was established to honor individuals and organizations who step up as champions for those who learn and work in our Texas public schools or enrich the educational experience in a meaningful way. “The Friend of the Year honoree recognizes those who recognize the value of a great public education and demonstrate sustained commitment to the success of Texas public schools,” said Charlie Davis, Friends Board President and Business Development Manager at Schneider Electric. (See below for more about Capturing Kids Hearts.)

Ambassador of the Year Honoree - Danny Massey, Superintendent, Brazosport ISD
Danny Massey.jpg

Friends of Texas Public Schools is equally pleased to announce that its 2021 Texas Public Schools Ambassador of the Year honoree is Mr. Danny Massey, Superintendent, Brazosport ISD. This award was established to honor and promote the efforts of an educator we believe serves their students and communities as an ambassador who inspires confidence in their schools and educators. The Ambassador of the Year exhibits courage, class, and conviction in his or her promotion of the great things happening in their schools and is quick to defend the honor of his or her colleagues. Friends Co-Founder Leslie Milder said, “Danny Massey is a model Ambassador for Texas Public Schools. His genuine love for the people of Brazosport ISD and his gift for connecting with students, staff and community is inspiring. People follow his lead because he is likeable, relatable, and they know he genuinely cares about them.”

Mr. Massey has been an educator in the Brazosport ISD for 30 of his 32 years in education, serving as a special education teacher, athletic coach, assistant principal, principal, executive director, assistant superintendent and as superintendent the past six years. Mr. Massey was named the 2020 Region 4 Superintendent of the Year and 2020 Brazosport Area Chamber of Commerce Man of the Year. In 2016, the Brazosport LULAC Council selected Danny as their Educator of the Year and The Positive Coaching Alliance named him a National Leadership Fellow in 2015. He has also served on the Board of Directors for Vanessa’s Big Heart Foundation, a non-profit that raises money and awareness for pediatric congenital heart disease. He served on the Greater Houston Area Fellowship of Christian Athletes Advisory Board and currently serves on the Brazosport Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and is a member of the Brazosport Rotary.



Capturing Kids Hearts (CKH) powered by Flippen Group has partnered with schools across the country to help transform classrooms into high-achieving centers of learning. CKH works with teachers and administrators to develop skills that lead to higher connectivity between teachers and students by strengthening healthy bonds, promote consistency in classroom management, reduce negative behaviors, improve academic performance, and increase teacher retention and student graduation rates. When school administrators provide ongoing CKH training for teachers, the process infuses the entire school with a sense of loyalty and enthusiasm for learning. 


“I have had the pleasure of working in school districts that have implemented Capturing Kids Hearts and there is always such a distinct difference in these CKH districts,” Leslie Milder said. “Capturing Kids Hearts does an amazing job of equipping school staff with the tools needed to connect with students, which is an essential part of a quality education.”


Flippen Group was founded in 1990 by internationally known educator, New York Times best-selling author, psychotherapist, executive coach and leadership expert Flip Flippen.

Our Mission

"To facilitate respectful conversations about Texas public schools through honest communication, productive dialogue, and relentless encouragement."

©2019 by Friends of Texas Public Schools